Goddamn macarons.

I have been obsessed with macarons since watching an episode of MasterChef in which the contestants had to produce boxes of “delicate, perfectly made macarons,” or however Gordon Ramsey phrased it. I don’t recall if I’d ever eaten one before, but they were so colorful, so pretty, that I decided I had to make some myself.

Some hundred dollars worth of Silpats and almond flour, countless eggs, and twelve failed batches later, I threw in the towel.

Today, I resume the challenge, accompanied by a blog. This is not going to be a paean to these “exquisite French confections,” however. Instead, it is going to be a blow-by-blow recounting of my attempts to conquer these little bastards and make something that I can give away to people, rather than something that I scrape off the Silpat and cram pieces of into my mouth before tossing the rest into the garbage.

Let the games commence!

About cohn17

photographer and baker of macarons
This entry was posted in Macarons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

