Attempt no. 12 – the plain macaron with chocolate-cherry ganache

It’s cherry season in Greece, so I decided to make macarons with a chocolate-cherry ganache. I am basing it on a standard macaron recipe – really, any one from my previous eleven attempts – but adding cherry concentrate to the ganache. Moreover, I am making the cherry concentrate myself, with a confidence that is completely unwarranted, given the last eleven chapters of this history.

  1. De-pit 250 g fresh cherries
  2. Macerate them in a food processor; strain the macerated cherries into a pot, using a spoon to crush out the juice trapped in the fruit pulp (makes approximately 100 ml of juice).
  3. Bring the juice to a boil, and then immediately down to a simmer, until you are left with approximately one tablespoon of liquid.
  4. Strain the liquid into an appropriate-sized container, which is something you probably should have on hand before you start.
20150724_smackaron_013 20150724_smackaron_017 20150724_smackaron_019
Inspired by Blahnikbaker.com, I’m trying to shoot more artistic photographs.
By now, I can do this in my sleep.

By now, I can do this in my sleep.

As far as the problems I had with the last batch, according to the website www.macaronmafia.com – yes, there is such a thing, presumably written by Jerry “Eggbeater” Colombo and Sal “Dirty SilPat” Perelli – I may have let my shells rest too long last time. Or I didn’t let them rest long enough. Or maybe the oven temperature was too low. At any rate, I did something wrong – you wanna make something out of it? This time, at least, I beat the hell out of the egg whites, and the mixture piped out nicely enough.

20150804_smackaron_010

I took ganache that I had left over from a previous attempt, melted it down, added the cherry concentrate to it, and then let it reset in the fridge. I then turned my attention back to the shells in the oven. The first batch didn’t come out right: they hadn’t baked long enough, and they didn’t form feet. Returning them to the oven didn’t help, but I kept the second batch in the oven longer, and they came out looking good.

20150804_smackaron_011 20150804_smackaron_014

Looking good was all they did, however. When I took them off the SilPat, I saw what those beautiful feet were hiding:

20150804_smackaron_017 20150804_smackaron_018

So, by unanimous decision, the victory goes to the meringue. The chocolate-cherry ganache goes back into the fridge, the shells go into the trash, and I can look forward to a little visit this evening from Eddie “the Whisk” Vincenzo and Rocco “Cracked Shells” Brunelli.

About cohn17

photographer and baker of macarons
This entry was posted in Macarons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

