Attempt no. 23 – the lemon macaron

Today, I am dispensing with the philosophy and going straight into the baking. Since Socrates said that knowledge leads to virtue, and I haven’t achieved virtue yet (macaronically speaking), this means I need more knowledge, so I have watched a few YouTube videos on how to make macarons. And really, while the process is a little complicated, it just doesn’t look that hard. So either my oven is faulty, or I’m an idiot.

I’m going back to this recipe because it seems about as good as any other – not that any recipe I’ve tried so far has ended with “makes two dozen completely terrible macarons” – and I’m going to stick with it until I get it right, to eliminate any other variables. Let’s get to it.

The ingredients:

20151207_smackaron_001Shells:
• 100 grams almond flour
• 100 grams powdered sugar
• 70 grams egg whites
• ¼ teaspoon cream of tartar
• 50 grams caster sugar
• 1 teaspoon lemon zest
• ½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract
• ½ teaspoon lemon juice
• Yellow gel food coloring

Buttercream:
• 40 grams unsalted butter, softened
• 130 grams powdered sugar
• 2 teaspoons heavy cream
• 1 tablespoon lemon juice
• 1 teapsoon lemon zest
• ½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract
• ⅛ teaspoon salt

20151207_smackaron_020 20151207_smackaron_015

I am extra careful this time. I sift the dry ingredients by hand, both by themselves, and then into the meringue, to ensure proper mixing. I gradually introduce the caster sugar into the egg whites instead of adding it all at once, to ensure it dissolves properly. I can already envision getting a “23” tattooed onto my bicep in celebration. And out of the oven come the shells …

20151207_smackaron_030 20151207_smackaron_028 20151208_smackaron_033

Appalling. These are some of the ugliest shells yet; Smackie doesn’t want to be seen with them. Ironically, the insides are perfect. No air pockets below the surface. Chewy without being dense. I am truly baffled. The victory – need I say it? – goes to the meringue.

About cohn17

Photographer and baker of macarons.
This entry was posted in Macarons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attempt no. 23 – the lemon macaron

  1. Leigh Ann Evanson says:

    Smackie with the disguise is amazing.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Attempt no. 24 – the lemon macaron | smackaron

Leave a Reply

